Skip nav to main content.

National Fair Housing Month

April is National Fair Housing Month

Today, and throughout the month of April, we celebrate our commitment to providing equal housing opportunity for all.

Fifty-two years ago on April 11th, President Lyndon Johnson signed the Civil Rights Act of 1968 which expanded on previous acts and prohibited discrimination concerning the sale, rental, and financing of housing based on race, religion, national origin, sex, (and as amended) handicap and family status.  Title VIII of the Act is also known as the Fair Housing Act.

The Fair Housing Act of 1968 reversed decades of discriminatory housing practices and established a number of critical protections still important today.

Here are some common examples of what the law prohibits:*

  • Refusal to rent or sell housing
  • Refusal to negotiate for housing
  • Actions which otherwise make housing unavailable
  • Setting different terms, conditions or privileges for sale or rental of a dwelling
  • Falsely denying that housing is available for inspection, sale or rental
  • Refusing to make a mortgage loan or provide other financial assistance for a dwelling
  • Refusing to provide information regarding loans
  • Imposing different terms or conditions on a loan, such as different interest rates, points or fees

*Based on someone’s race, color, religion, sex, disability, familial status, or national origin

Members Cooperative Credit Union (MCCU) is proud to be an Equal Housing Lender.  This means we do business in accordance with the Federal Fair Housing Law (The Fair Housing Amendments of 1988). We are committed to championing diversity, being inclusive in our business practices, and providing equal housing opportunity for all.



Video Banking